MQM split: Rabita Committee withdraws Farooq Sattar’s nominees for Senate elections


Nine candidates put forward by the Farooq Sattar-led faction of the MQM-P for the upcoming Senate elections had their nomination papers withdrawn by the party’s Rabita Committee on Monday, DawnNews reported.

The nine candidates withdrawn include Kamran Tessori, whose nomination by Sattar seems to have further split the party between the ‘PIB’ and ‘Bahadurabad’ factions.

According to reports, the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) returning officer had received a letter signed by MQM Bahadurabad convener Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui informing the body that nine of its candidates had been withdrawn.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here